Johnny Thunders
Belfast Rocks

Link to image of cover

A live show recorded in Belfast on October 27, 1984 with Johnny putting out a lively performance. The recording, taken off the soundboard, is good and the disc is filled with almost 70 minutes of music. Johnny does plenty of talking to the appreciative audience between tracks and his guitar and voice sound great. It's nice to have this material finally come out on a legit CD. Good liner notes by Brian Young.

Keith Yon on bass and Terry Chimes on drums form a nice tight support for Johnny. There's no second guitar though to fill in several noticeable holes. The band plays for most of the show but JT plays several solo acoustic tunes such as 'Eve Of Destruction', You Can't Put Your Arms...' and 'Sad Vacation'.

Though it's an accurate document of a good show, I think the disc could use a bit of editing. 'Chinese Rocks' appears 3 times. The first version is missing most of the vocals and the other two sound almost identical. 'Pipeline' is performed twice with both versions sounding the same.

This show is also available on the Belfast Nights CD.

Track Listing

  1. Pipeline
  2. Countdown Love
  3. Personality Crisis
  4. Little Bit Of Whore
  5. M.I.A.
  6. Too Much Junkie Biz
  7. Talk About You
  8. Chinese Rocks
  9. Copycat
  10. In Cold Blood
  11. Alone In A Crowd
  12. Eve Of Destruction
  13. You Can't Put Your Arms Around A Memory
  14. Sad Vacation
  15. Born To Lose
  16. Stepping Stone
  17. Pipeline
  18. Chinese Rocks
  19. Chinese Rocks (Again)


Johnny Thunders - Belfast Rocks
Format Country Year Label Comments
CD England 1997 Anagram CDM GRAM 117  

Johnny Thunders Cyber Lounge:
Managed by Chris Ridpath:
Modified: April 17, 2001