New York Dolls
Demos - Planet Studios, 1973

These demos were recorded in March 1973 at Planet Studios in NYC with Paul Nelson producing. For my money, these recordings are the best the Dolls ever did.

There are a total of 22 tracks in the demos but most releases contain less. The only place to get them all is on the double LP 7 Days Weekend. The recent release, A Hard Night's Day, has almost all the tracks and it has great sound and a good booklet.

There are 2 other demo recordings from the Dolls: demos #1 and demos #2.

Track Listing

  1. Seven Day Weekend
  2. Frankenstein
  3. Mystery Girls
  4. Showdown
  5. Back In The USA
  6. Endless Party
  7. Jet Boy
  8. It's Too Late
  9. Bad Detective
  10. Lonely Planet Boy
  11. Subway Train
  12. Private World
  13. Trash
  14. Human Being
  15. Don't Start Me Talking
  16. Hootchie Cootchie Man
  17. Great Big Kiss
  18. Vietnamese Baby
  19. Babylon
  20. Bad Girl
  21. Pills
  22. Personality Crisis


These demos have been released on:

Johnny Thunders Cyber Lounge:
Managed by Chris Ridpath:
Modified: April 7, 2001